Skip to main content

Opinion

Police Record Law Says Open Up

It doesn’t look good for our local police departments to continue to withhold complaints against officers following a decision in federal court last week that they must be released.

Aug 27, 2020
Scanning the Village Candidates

Voting by absentee ballot has already begun in a rare, contested East Hampton Village Board election. And in the last weeks of a very long campaign, village voters will be paying close attention. Here’s what they might look for.

Aug 27, 2020
Ugly Divide Hits Here

Agree with the message or not, the online disparagement of the Montauk Brewing Company long after it posted online support for the Black Lives Matter movement has been deeply disappointing.

Aug 27, 2020
The Mast-Head: False Sense of Security

Nearly every morning since the middle of March, I get up, make coffee, feed the dogs, and look up the previous day’s coronavirus numbers.

Aug 27, 2020
The Shipwreck Rose: Before and After

Graduation was held at the Hayground School in Bridgehampton on Saturday evening, and the parents kind of fell apart.

Aug 27, 2020
Gristmill: Up Close and Personal

Monday night’s opening of the Republican National Convention raised important questions every American must ponder.

Aug 27, 2020
Guestwords: Misguided Monuments

When it comes to statues, I would like to advance the idea that the Confederates are in a class by themselves.

Aug 27, 2020
Hold Off on Hospital Site

At the moment, there appears to be just one local voice saying no to a proposed new hospital emergency annex on the site of two Little League fields centrally located off Pantigo Place in East Hampton.

Aug 20, 2020
Early Migrations

One of the subtle delights of August can be found along the bays and inside harbors on the East Coast, as the first migrating shorebirds arrive from the north.

Aug 20, 2020
Single-File and Other Rules of the Road

As much as they might improve a dangerous situation, new bicycle lanes will not be coming anytime soon to rescue East End roads.

Aug 20, 2020
The Mast-Head: Text Markers of Age

Searching for something for our weekly “Recovering the Past” contest, I found a photograph I had taken in August, almost exactly 30 years ago today.

Aug 20, 2020
The Shipwreck Rose: Must Haves

Like many of us sinners, I spend too much time shopping on the internet.

Aug 20, 2020