Board Appointments Galore

    Consistency ruled the day at the East Hampton Village Board’s organizational meeting on Monday.
    A number of terms were up on the various appointed boards, and the village board voted to reappoint sitting members for new terms. Bruce A.T. Siska and James McMullan will continue on the design review board through July 2014. Frank Newbold and Lysbeth Marigold will keep their posts on the zoning board of appeals through July 2017, and Richard Roberts, Pam Bennett, and Rabbi Sheldon Zimmerman will remain on the village’s ethics board, with Mr. Roberts serving as chairman for a year as of Aug. 1.
    Stuyvesant Wainwright III was reappointed as chairman of the design review board. Carolyn Preische will continue as that board’s vice chairwoman. Rose Brown will retain her post as chairwoman of the planning board and Donald Hunting will continue as vice chairman. Andrew Goldstein will serve another year as chairman of the zoning board and Mr. Newbold will continue as vice chairman.
    And, although there was no question that they would continue in their current posts, the board approved the continued employment of Larry Cantwell as village administrator at a base salary of $192,772, Jerry Larsen as police chief at a base salary of $171,023, Michael Tracey, police captain, at $156,634, Scott Fithian, superintendent of the Department of Public Works, at $105,423, and as code enforcement officers, Thomas Lawrence ($89,156), Kenneth Collum ($103,356), and Daniel Reichl ($73,031).
    The board’s July 20 public meeting has been rescheduled for July 31 at 11 a.m. at the Emergency Services Building on Cedar Street.