Fire District Commissioners Re-Elected

With uncontested races for commissioners in each of the local fire departments, there was not much of a surprise when the polls closed Tuesday night — except in Bridgehampton, where the outgoing fire chief mounted a last-minute, write-in campaign, albeit an unsuccessful one, against the incumbent, Bruce Dombkowski.

Tim Sieger, the outgoing Bridgehampton chief, announced on Monday that he was seeking the position and asked voters to write in his name on the ballot. Chief Sieger did not seek re-election as chief after one year in the position and several years as an assistant chief.

Come Tuesday night, Mr. Dombkowski, the chairman of the Bridgehampton Board of Fire Commissioners, was re-elected to another five-year term with 67 votes. Mr. Sieger received 40. In total, 116 voters turned out, with 9 votes deemed invalid.

A newcomer will join the Springs Board of Fire Commissioners. David Allen, a member of the Fire Department, received 58 votes and will fill the seat held by Kenneth Brabant Sr., who did not seek re-election after 25 years. 

Mr. Allen grew up in Springs, where he lives with his wife and son. He first joined the Fire Department in 2002 and has been a lieutenant for four years. He has worked as a mechanic for the Town of East Hampton since 2001.

"Growing up in Springs and being a member of the Fire Department, I looked forward to the opportunity to be fire commissioner, where I can be involved in the decisions that affect the community and the Fire Department," Mr. Allen said this week.  

In Montauk, Richard Schoen, who is the vice chairman of its board of fire commissioners, was re-elected to another five-year term with 61 votes, according to Dawn Lucas, the district's secretary-treasurer. A total of 63 votes were cast; one was for Eddie Ecker, a department member and former town police chief. The other was defective, Ms. Lucas said.

Mr. Schoen was elected in 2013, after serving as the Fire Department's chief. He had previously served as a commissioner. 

In Amagansett, Daniel Shields II also earned another five-year term, with 29 votes. He now serves as the district's chairman.