East Hampton Trustee Results Hold in Final Vote Tally

Francis Bock, the East Hampton Town Trustees' clerk, or presiding officer, was the top vote-getter in the race for nine seats on that board. Durell Godfrey

The Suffolk County Board of Elections on Wednesday certified results for the Nov. 7 election, and the winners remain unchanged in East Hampton Town, where absentee ballots could have tipped the results in the race for town trustee but did not after a final review.

On Election Night, before absentee ballots were counted, Diane McNally, a Republican who served as a trustee for more than two decades and was the board's longtime presiding officer, stood in 10th place for the nine-member board. Certified results released by the board of elections on Wednesday put Ms. McNally in 11th place.

The top nine vote-getters win a two-year term on the board, and all but two of them -- Jim Grimes, an incumbent, and Susan Vorpahl, a first-time candidate (in ninth and eighth place, respectively) -- are Democrats this time around.

Francis Bock, the trustees' current presiding officer, and his deputies, Bill Taylor and Rick Drew, were re-elected, as was Brian Byrnes. Democrats new to the board in January will be John Aldred, Dell Cullum, and Susan McGraw Keber.

Mr. Bock had 4,423 votes, Mr. Drew had 3,995, Mr. Aldred 3,808, Mr. Cullum 3,780, Mr. Taylor 3,733, Mr. Byrnes 3,648, and Ms. McGraw Keber 3,314. Ms. Vorpahl got 3,288 votes and Mr. Grimes had 3,178. Trailing them most closely were Rona Klopman with 3,027 and Ms. McNally with 2,907.

The Democratic candidates for town supervisor and town board easily won election. Final votes gave Councilman Peter Van Scoyoc 4,296 votes (62.8 percent) in the race for supervisor, against Manny Vilar's 2,544 (37.2 percent).

Councilwoman Kathee Burke-Gonzalez won re-election to a second four-year term with 4,543 votes, and Jeff Bragman won his first term as a councilman with 3,707. On the Republican ticket, Paul Giardina had 2,464 votes and Jerry Larsen had 2,388.