Schneiderman Keeps Southampton Supe Seat, Dems Hold On to Majority

Jay Schneiderman won a second two-year term as the Southampton Town supervisor. Taylor K. Vecsey

Southampton Town voters gave Jay Schneiderman a second term as Southampton Town supervisor in Tuesday's election, and elected two more Democrats to the Southampton Town Board, apparently ousting Republican incumbent Stan Glinka, according to unofficial results from the Suffolk County Board of Elections. With the re-election of Julie Lofstad and the election of her running mate, Thomas John Schiavoni, Mr. Schneiderman not only maintained a majority, but saw it gain strength.

Ms. Lofstad, a Hampton Bays resident who was elected to fill the empty seat left by Brad Bender's resignation almost two years ago, received 31 percent of the vote, with all 42 districts reporting just before 10 p.m. Mr. Schiavoni, a Sag Harbor resident and current member of the town's zoning board, received 27 percent. Meanwhile, Mr. Glinka, seeking his second term on the town board, received 23.8 percent. He is one of two Republicans on the board. Christine Scalera has one year left in her term. 

Reached Tuesday night, Mr. Schneiderman said, “It was an excellent contest. Stan Glinka has served the town well. The voters chose Julie Lofstad and Tommy John Schiavoni.”

Tuesday night's winners will join John Bouvier, a Democrat in his first term on the board. Mr. Glinka's running mate, Thea Dombrowski-Fry, won about 18 percent of the vote Tuesday night. 

Mr. Schneiderman defeated his opponent, Ray Overton, with 63 percent of the vote. Mr. Schneiderman is a former East Hampton Town supervisor and Suffolk County legislator who lives in Southampton Village. He ran on the Democratic and Independence Party lines. He recently switched his party affiliation from Independence to Democratic, but has long aligned with Democrats. Fred Havemeyer, a Bridgehampton resident, tried to force a Democratic primary, but his party challenged signatures on his petitions, and the race came to an end before the September primary.

Other Offices

Aside from the town board, Alex Gregor was elected to his third four-year term as highway superintendent on the Democratic ticket. He received 57.28 percent of the vote over Lance Aldrich, who earned 42.7 percent. 

In the case of the Southampton Town Trustees, some races were too close to call early on election night. Bill Pell IV, the only candidate who was cross-endorsed, and Bruce A. Stafford were easily elected with 18.6 and 18.5 percent of the vote, respectively. Edward J. Warner Jr., an incumbent, got 11.52 percent, while Scott M. Horowitz, an incumbent, and Ann E. Welker, a newcomer, received 10.99 percent each. Donald T. Law got 10.54 percent of the vote, while Gary T. Glanz got 9.87 percent and Ronald A. Fisher 8.94 percent.

The town clerk and town justices ran unopposed. Sundy A. Schermeyer, a Republican first elected in 2006, was elected to a fourth four-year term as clerk, and Deborah E. Kooperstein, a Democrat, and Barbara L. Wilson, a Republican, were re-elected with no surprises.