Dems Call for Drilling Ban

Seven members of the House of Representatives introduced legislation last week that would block the Trump administration’s plan to expand gas and oil drilling off most of the nation’s coastline. They are seeking a moratorium on new offshore oil and gas drilling.

On Jan. 8, Representatives Salud Carbajal and Jared Huffman of California, Kathy Castor of Florida, David Cicilline of Rhode Island, Joe Cunningham of South Carolina, Donald McEachin of Virginia, and Frank Pallone of New Jersey each introduced a bill that would block drilling off the coasts of their respective states or regions. All seven are Democrats. 

Additionally, Representative Francis Rooney, a Democrat of Florida, introduced a bill last week to permanently extend the moratorium on leasing in the eastern Gulf of Mexico.

The federal Department of the Interior is expected to unveil a plan to auction off public waters for expanded drilling in the coming weeks. One year ago, the department had proposed allowing drilling off most of the nation’s coastline, a plan that has drawn bipartisan opposition.