Guild Hall: And the Winning Members Are . . .

Stephanie Brody-Lederman won top honors for her painting “Reading Plato,”
Winners of the Guild Hall Members Art Show, chosen by Elisabeth Sussman, gathered outside the museum on Saturday night. Durell Godfrey

    Guild Hall’s 75th Members Show opened on Saturday and with it came the announcement of the winners selected by this year’s awards judge, Elisa­beth Sussman, curator of photography at the Whitney Museum of American Art.
    Stephanie Brody-Lederman won top honors for her painting “Reading Plato,” a combination of oil, acrylic, graphite, and wax on canvas with text and a nosegay of roses. She will receive a solo show for her efforts. A previous win by Ms. Brody-Lederman resulted in a solo exhibition in 2004. Her next exhibition will be on view in 2015 and she said she is already planning for it.
    Other winners include Mary H. Mulholland for “An Event Extraordinaire,” which was chosen as best representing the “diamond theme” of the 75th anniversary of the event. William S. Heppenheimer won for best abstract painting for his work “Tablet K.” Dianne Balducci’s “Cul-de-Sac-Ranch” was judged to be the best representational work. Jean Truskty Stiles’s “Dancing Girl” was best photograph. The best work on paper was Sue Ferguson Gussow’s “Pippa,” a pastel. Goran Petmil’s “White Box,” an amalgamation of Art Forum magazines formed into a cube, won for best sculpture. Jason Poremba’s “Glimmer of Hope” won for best mixed media.
    There were also special prizes such as the Catherine and Theo Hios best landscape award, which went to Stephanie Reit for “Vanishing Point.” The best new artist award went to Daniel Runfola for “Black Diamond.”
    Ms. Sussman also chose several artists for honorable mentions. They were Emily Abramson, Eva Iacono, John Hall, Carol Saxe, Joe Pintauro, Julia Small-Gamby, David Yohay, Kevin Hart, Matthew Satz, Perry Burns, Anik Libby, Elaine Marinoff, and Jackie Black.
    The exhibition will remain on view through June 1. A gallery tour conducted by Michelle Klein, who organized the show, and the winners will be held on May 18.